Review: “Anno Dracula: The Bloody Red Baron” by Kim Newman

Title: The Bloody Red Baron
Author: Kim Newman
Series: Anno Dracula #2
Rating: ****
Publisher/Copyright: Titan Books, 2012

This is a shorter review I did a while back on Goodreads, before I really found my footing on this reviewing thing. I’d like to think I could do better now, but it’s in that awkward spot where I’ve read it too recently to want to reread it, but too long ago to review it properly.

This second book wasn’t quite as good as the first one, but that’s to be expected. I thought Genvieve should actually appear as a character instead of remaining absent, a change the author himself apparently wishes he had made based on his commentary. Still, it was most definitely worth reading if you liked the first book, and I am a devoted fan of this series. In fact, I’m reaching the conclusion that I’m a great fan of Kim Newman’s writing across the board….

Here we have the world we left in at the end of Anno Dracula, twenty-odd years later and embroiled in a world war with vampires serving on both sides. New technologies are being tested, from chemical warfare to the newfangled aeroplane. Dracula serves as the Kaiser’s right hand, some say ruling from behind the throne. Charles Beauregard is back again to oppose the designs of the chief vampire, joined once more by stubborn war correspondant Kate Reed as well as the Diogenes Club’s newest addition, the young operative Edwin Winthrop. Will these intrepid heroes be able to discover Dracula’s designs in time to foil them? Or will Dracula and his vampire flyers led by the Bloody Red Baron himself, Baron Richtofen, triumph over the Allies?

CONTENT: Violence, including vampirism. Mild sexual content, not too explicit I don’t believe. Mild language.

2 Comments

Filed under Books, Novels, Reviews

2 responses to “Review: “Anno Dracula: The Bloody Red Baron” by Kim Newman

  1. I really enjoyed the first book in this series. Even if the 2nd book isn’t as good, I still want to read it. These are the kind of vampire books I like – where the vampires are bloody killers, not sparkly and emo.

    • Exactly! I mean, emo can work if you do it right or have a good reason–Angel could be described as emo, and I liked his character and what they did with it, at least through the beginning of season 2 of Buffy where I’m sitting so far–but certain sparkly Meyerii are just neutered ripoffs with no real interesting character elements. So frustrating….

      I just got the fourth and (ostensibly) last book in the mail, so I should be starting that soon. My old review for the third one should go up in the next couple days as well….I found a bunch of old reviews that I somehow forgot to post on here.

Leave a Reply

